Embedding Young People’s Participation in Health Services

It’s an exciting couple of weeks for many of us who have contributed to the new ‘Embedding Young People’s Participation in Health Services’ textbook, which officially launches on Wednesday 07 October 2020!

There is an increasing interest in young people’s participation in the design and delivery of health services and research. However, young people’s views are not consistently sought or acknowledged, and they are still often marginalised within healthcare. This new textbook, edited by Dr Louca-Mai Brady, draws on original research and a diverse range of practical examples, including RAiISE, to outline the potential for inclusive and diverse approaches to young people’s participation in health services. A practical new framework, embedded in children’s rights, is also presented, that shows how young people’s participation can be integrated into services in ways that are meaningful, effective and sustainable.

“What a feast of expertise and insight! This book is a must read for anyone keen to develop more young-person centred, meaningful and collaborative working practices.”

Professor Lucy Bray, Edge Hill University

As part of the launch, we are hosting two events which you are invited to join! The first is a publication day tweet chat on Wednesday 07 October 2020, from 20:00 – 21:00 BST (21:00 – 22:00 CEST, 15:00 – 16:00 EDT). All you need to do is head on over to Twitter, and use the hashtag #YPHealthParticipation.

The second event is the launch webinar, taking place on Wednesday 14 October 2020, from 18:00 – 18:45 BST (19:00 – 19:45 CEST, 13:00- 13:45 EDT). For more information and to register, check out the below Eventbrite link! Participants at the launch webinar will receive an exclusive launch discount code on the paperback edition of the book for use on the Policy Press website.

“We assume we do this well, when considering young people’s participation in health services. This book will stop us in our tracks and help us to radically change how we do this better, by combining research with lived experience. It will act as an aide memoire for both clinicians and policy makers.”

Angela Horsley MBE, Head of Children, Young People and Transition,
NHS England and NHS Improvement

Written by Simon R. Stones

Simon R. Stones BSc (Hons) MMRS is a multi-award-winning patient advocate, consultant, researcher, and writer from Manchester in the United Kingdom. He is recognised as one of the top 100 most influential people with disabilities in the UK, and was the winner of the international WEGO Health Award for Patient Healthcare Collaborator in 2017. He is a passionate advocate and ambassador for people living with a variety of health conditions, inspired and empowered by his own journey with juvenile arthritis, fibromyalgia, and inflammatory bowel disease since childhood, as well as a carer for his late mum. He is currently an Associate Fellow of the Royal Commonwealth Society and a trustee of RAiISE. He is the former President of the European Network of Fibromyalgia Associations (ENFA).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: